Dothan Attorneys Help Victims of Hit-and-Run Accidents in Alabama

Personal injury lawyers fight for full compensation even after wrongdoers flee

Traffic collisions are bad enough, but when the driver who hits you flees the scene of the accident, your situation becomes even more challenging. Under Alabama law, leaving the scene of an accident is a serious crime. Yet, hit-and-run accidents remain a problem. According to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, there were an estimated 737,100 hit-and-run crashes in the United States in 2015, which comes down to a hit-and-run every 43 seconds. The following year saw 2,049 fatalities from hit-and-run crashes, the highest number ever recorded. If you are injured in a hit-and-run accident, Carey & Hamner, P.C. is prepared to help.

Why do some drivers leave the scene of an accident?

The reason most hit-and-run drivers flee the scene is because they have something to hide. This can be:

  • An outstanding warrant
  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • Driving without a license
  • Driving without insurance
  • Possession of a contraband substance
  • Driving a stolen car
  • Being in the country illegally

However, the mere shock of the accident, especially if the injuries are severe, can trigger panic and cause a driver to flee the scene. This can make recovering damages more complicated, but even if you cannot identify who hit you, legal options do exist.

Penalties for leaving the scene in Alabama

Alabama law requires drivers to remain on the scene of an accident, to exchange identifying information with other persons involved in the crash and to render reasonable assistance to anyone who is injured, though in urgent situations where first responders are delayed, a driver may leave the scene to seek emergency assistance. Unlawfully leaving the scene of an accident can trigger these charges:

  • Class C felony — Charged when the accident causes injury or death. A conviction draws a sentence of imprisonment for a minimum of one year and one day and a maximum of 10 years, along with a fine of up to $15,000.
  • Class A misdemeanor — Charged when the accident causes damage to an occupied or unoccupied vehicle. A conviction can result in one year’s incarceration and a fine of up to $6,000.

Sentences typically are more severe when the harm to a person is greatest.

Attorneys investigate hit-and-run collisions in Alabama

The goal of an auto accident lawsuit is to hold the negligent driver and/or their insurer financially accountable for harm to the victim. Towards that end, we work with police to identify the vehicle and driver who caused the crash. We interview witnesses, examine available security camera footage and other pieces of evidence, such as cellphone camera photos you might have taken at the crime scene.

Sometimes, once a hit-and-run driver is apprehended, we find he or she has no means of paying a damage claim. Many DUI accident victims face the same issue, as well as people struck by motorists who lack a valid driver’s license. In such cases, we can file a claim with your own insurer under your uninsured motorist coverage. If a commercial vehicle was used in the accident, we can press your claim against the company.                                 

Compensation for injured victims

If you are injured in a hit-and-run crash, a car accident lawyer in Dothan can fight for personal injury compensation, including payment to address your medical bills, lost earnings and your pain and suffering. We explore every available avenue to help maximize the amount you receive in a judgment or settlement.                  

Contact a skillful Dothan lawyer for a free consultation about your hit-and-run accident

Carey & Hamner, P.C. represents victims of hit-and-run accidents in Dothan and throughout Alabama. Call 855-435-4797 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation today. If you are unable to visit our office due to your injuries, we can come to you.